Akwa Ibom: PDP Leads In N’Assembly, Presidential Elections

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has won the presidential election and nine out of 11 National Assembly elections which results have so far been declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission, (INEC) in Akwa Ibom State.

Elections into two House of Representatives seats were declared inconclusive and re-runs set aside for a later date.

Federal House of Representatives seats won by the party include Itu/Ibiono Federal Constituency where the candidate, Barr. Ime Okon, a former House of Assembly member, scored 14,164 votes to beat his rival, Mfonobong Udofa Edet of the relatively unknown Young Progressives Party, YPP, however made popular by its gubernatorial candidate, Senator Bassey Albert Akpan, who is from the constituency.

The party also won the Etinan/Nsit Ubium/Nsit Ibom Federal Constituency where its candidate, Obong Paul Ekpo, a former state chairman of the party, coasted home with 34,276 votes as against 12,890 votes scored by his closest rival, the All Progressives Congress’ candidate, Glory Ekpo.

In Ikot Abasi/Mkpat Enin/Eastern Obolo Federal Constituency, the party’s candidate, Uduak Odudoh, a member of the State’s House of Assembly, won with a total of 23,514 votes to his rival, Ernest Emmanuel Ntuk of the APC’s 6173 votes.

Unyime Idem, Deputy Chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Communications, won the Ukanafun/Oruk Anam Federal Constituency seat to make a return to the Green Chambers. He defeated his closest rival, Barr Freedom Ibritam of the APC by 22,218 to 10,556 votes.

Former Leader of the state House of Assembly, Okpolupm Ette, won the Eket/Esit Eket/Onna/Ibeno Federal Constituency seat by 33,001 votes, defeating APC’s Eseme Eyiboh who scored 16,909 votes. Eyiboh is a former member and spokesperson of the House of Representatives.

The party also won the Uyo/Ibesikpo Asutan/Uruan/Nsit Atai seat with its candidate, state House of Assembly member, Mark Esset, beating its closest rival, Nsikak Okokon of the APC by 50,023 to 23,386 votes; and Oron/Mbo/Urueoffong Oruko/Udung Uko/Okobo Federal Constituency where its candidate, Martins Esin defeated his rival, Chief Robinson Edumoh by 21,715 to 15,072 votes.

The APC won Ikot Ekpene/Obot Akara/Essien Udim Federal Constituency with Dr. Patrick Umoh, a lawyer, scoring 38,654 to beat state House of Assembly member, Idongesit Ntekpere, who was candidate of the PDP.

Though elections into the seat of Abak/Etim Ekpo/Ika and Ikono/Ini Federal Constituencies were declared inconclusive and a rerun ordered in some units and ward, APC’s Clement Jimbo, was leading House of Representatives member, Aniekan Umanah who is PDP’s candidate, by 21, 627 to 18665 votes, while YPP’s Emmanuel Ukpong Udoh, Deputy Chairman of the House of Representatives committee on Interior was leading Dr. Glory Edet, a former Cmmissioner for Agriculture in the state by 19,926 to 15,765 votes respectively when issuance of the results were halted.

The rerun for Ikono/Ini Federal Constituency is to take place on Wednesday, March 1, 2023 in Ikono Ward 11 where skimishes and fightings disrupted the elections held on Saturday, February 25, 2023.

Dr. Ekong Sampson, a former Commissioner and House of Assembly member and Aniekan Bassey, the Speaker of the state House of Assembly who were candidates of the party for Akwa Ibom South and North-East Senatorial Districts, won their closest rivals, both APC candidates, Martyn Udoinyang, a former Commissioner and Dr. Emaeyak Ukpong, a former House of Representatives member by 79,327 to 33,256 votes and 98,634 to 43,204 votes respectively.

In Akwa Ibom North-West Senatorial District, Senator Godswill Akpabio was declared winner after polling 115,401 votes. The former Governor defeated former national legal adviser of the PDP, Barr. Emmanuel Enoidem, who once served in his cabinet as a Commissioner.

In the presidential elections, Atiku Abukakar of the PDP scored a total of 214,012 votes to beat closest rival, APC’s Bola Ahmed Tinubu , who scored 160,620 votes and Labour Party’s Peter Obi who scored 132,683 votes.

The victory by PDP, according to public affairs analyst, Patryk Edeke, is a sign that the PDP will win the March 11, 2023 Governorship elections.

“If you see the spread of votes you will agree with me that Pastor Umo Eno of the PDP will win the next elections. There was hardly any LGA that the PDP didn’t show strength. Even in areas it lost, the margin was small. Though it lost Ikot Ekpene Senatorial District (Akwa Ibom North West Senatorial District), it won in some local government areas. The other parties didn’t score the mandatory 25 percent spread across the state in any of the 3 elections. Only the PDP did, ” Edeke said.

Share This Article

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *