Atiku Defeats Tinubu In Katsina, Gombe, Yobe

The presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar, has won the presidential election in Katsina, Gombe and Yobe states; the states controlled by the All Progressives Congress (APC).

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) Returning Officer in Katsina State, Prof. Mua’zu Abubakar Gusau, said Atiku polled 489,045 votes to defeat Bola Tinubu of APC who garnered 482,283 votes.

Rabiu Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) came third with 69,386 votes, followed by Peter Obi of the Labour Party (LP) who got 6,376 votes.

Atiku won 13 out of 34 LGAs of Katsina State with Tinubu winning 21 LGAs.

In Yobe, the PDP candidate also defeated Tinubu despite the state being governed by APC governor.

The Yobe State Returning Officer, Prof. Umar Pate announced that Atiku polled 198,567 votes while Tinubu scored 151,459 votes.

Peter Obi of LP polled 2,406 while Kwankwaso scored 18,270votes.

In Gombe, Atiku also won by a wide margin. He polled 319,123 votes in the 11 local government areas (LGAs) of the state as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

The Gombe State Collation Officer, Prof. Maimuna Waziri, announced the result at about 1a.m. on Monday.

The former Vice President won with over 160,000 votes ahead of Tinubu who polled 146,977 votes. Obi secured 26,160 votes while Kwankwaso got 10,520 votes.

Share This Article

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *