Bayelsa Decides: APC Aspirants Pledge To Accept Primary Result

Aspirants for the governorship ticket of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in Bayelsa State have given a verbal pledge to abide by the outcome of the September primary election.

They made the vow during the screening of the aspirants at the weekend in Yenegoa. Governorship election comes up in November

Former Minister of State for Agriculture and Rural Development Senator Heineken Lokpobiri and other aspirants for the August 29 primary including an engineer, Preye Aganaba, Ebitimi Angbare, David Lyon, former Cross River REC Frankland Briyai; former Commissioner of Police Deseye Poweigha and Prof. Etebu made the vow.

Aganaba, who was the first to be screened, described the agreement to abide by the results of the primaries as verbal.

He said: “The agreement was not written. So we didn’t sign anything. We were made to make a pledge to abide by the outcome of the primaries. We want free and fair primaries. We don’t want what happened in 2015 to happen in 2019.”

Lokpobiri said they were satisfied with the screening saying the committee did an excellent job.

“The screening committee did an excellent job. Of the seven aspirants, I was the last person to be screened and I think the process went very well. If I win the primaries, I will lead the party to victory, no doubt about that.

“If I don’t get the ticket, I’ll definitely cooperate with the party. I am party man. Ultimately, other aspirants will work with whoever gets the ticket for the party’s success.”

The 7-man committee led by Isa Isong has completed it’s assignment, party members will wait for the outcome from the national working committee.

Share This Article

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *