House Speaker Gbajabiamila Constitutes House Committees

Some 45 days after the inauguration of the 9th National Assembly and his emergence as the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Rt. Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila, has named standing committees of the House.

At the plenary on Thursday, Gbajabiamila announced the Chairmen and Deputy Chairmen of 105 committees.

In all, the ruling APC got 80 and 63 Chairmanship and Deputy Chairmanship slots respectively while the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) got 21 and 30 Chairmanship and Deputy Chairmanship positions respectively.

Two members of the All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) were named as Committee Chairmen and three as Deputy Chairmen.

The Action Alliance (AA) got a Committee Chairmanship and Deputy Chairmanship slots, just as the Allied Peoples Movement (APM) got one Committee Chairmanship position.

Three members of the African Democratic Congress (ADC) were named as Deputy Chairmen of various committees.

Two members of the Peoples Redemption Party (PRP) were announced as Deputy Chairmen of committees while the Action Democratic Party (ADP) and the Social Democratic Party (SDP) were named as Deputy Chairmen.

Some of the committees and their Chairmen are: Appropriations Muktar Betara; Finance James Faleke; Public Accounts Wole Oke; Works Abubarkar Kabiru; Public Petitions Jerry Alagbaoso; Defence Babajimi Benson; Judiciary Onofiok Luke; Gas Nicholas Mutu; Interior, Nasir Daura; Power Aliu Magaji; Customs Yusuf Kili; Foreign Affairs Yusuf Baba.

Others are: Media Benjamin Kalu; Inland Waterways Patrick Asadu; Army Abdulrasak Namdas; NDDC Tunji Ojo; Cooperation in Africa Mohammed Bago; Petroleum Upstream Sarkin Ada and Maritime Lynda Ikpeazu

See the full list below:

Share This Article

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *