Hunger Strike: Falana Cries Out Over 57 Citizens Detained In Navy Cell, 10 In Ship

Human Rights lawyer, Femi Falana has cried out over the continued detention of citizens in a Navy vessel and a detain facility in Lagos for between 8 months to two years.

The senior advocate of Nigeria (SAN) equally alleged that the detainees have gone on hunger strike since Monday to protest the failure of Navy authorities to release them even after a court has ordered their freedom.

“The 57 people being detained illegally by the Nigerian Navy at NNS Beecroft detention facility at Apapa, Lagos commenced a hunger strike on Monday, September 9, 2019,” he said.

“They are protesting their detention without trial for periods ranging from 8 months to over 2 years.

“The federal high court has nullified the detention of some of the detainees while others have been granted bail. But the Nigerian Navy has treated the court orders with contempt.

“In spite of its official policy to respect the human rights of the Nigerian people, the Buhari administration has failed to call the detaining authorities to order.”

He lamented a situation whereby political leaders at all levels celebrated 100 days in office this while scores of citizens were languishing in police and military facilities.

He said, the Nigerian Navy has continued to detain over 150 citizens for several months without trial for undisclosed criminal offences. While some of the detainees have recently been released not less than 57 others are still held incommunicado in Lagos.

Specifically, 10 of the detainees are held inside a vessel in Lagos while 57 others are detained in the NNS Beecroft Cell, Apapa, Lagos. Some of the names of the detainees are:

  1. Michael Ovie
  2. Simon Onyisike Mike
  3. Umoren Daniel
  4. James Archibong
  5. Graham Brown
  6. Ifeanyi Osadinizu
  7. Matthew Epiagolo
  8. Taiwo Ayodele
  9. Sunday Ojo
  10. Austin Omonisa
  11. Timothy Ajayi
  12. Adeleke Adewale
  13. Onoja Reuben
  14. Pius Paul
  15. Peter Pulle
  16. Ogunmoyero Oluwaseun
  17. Innocent Sunday
  18. Lejoro Friday
  19. Hamza Yakubu
  20. Segun Yusuf
  21. Adebayo Mayoma
  22. Godswill Umoh
  23. Edu Fidelis
  24. Richard David
  25. Daniel Harrison
  26. Asaiki Okeoghene
  27. Omogoye Bolaji
  28. Victor Uchendu
  29. Oloyede Ademola
  30. Emomotimi F. Watchman
  31. Ganabel Sixtus
  32. Olajide Enigbewo
  33. Kehinde Labinjo
  34. Godswill Akpoviri Ebbahi

Falana stated that at the annual conference of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) which held in Lagos last month, President Muhammadu Buhari restated the commitment of his administration to operate under the rule of law.

He said, based on such commitment the federal government should comply with all court orders and direct the Nigerian Navy, police and other security agencies to grant bail to criminal suspects or arraign them in courts.

Share This Article

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *