Ikpeazu Sacks Council Chairmen After Losing Senatorial Bid

Abia State Governor, Dr Okezie Ikpeazu, has sacked six out of 17 newly appointed Local Government Area Transition Committee Chairmen in the state.

This was disclosed via a statement issued on Friday by the Secretary to the Abia State Government, Chris Ezem.

Prince Enyioma Okpanku was replaced by IK Anyatonwu in Isiala Ngwa South Local Government Area of Abia State, while James Ndukwe was replaced by Obrien Iroh as Ohafia LGA TC Chairman.

In Umuahia South, Nnachebe Uhiara was replaced by Kelechi Aguiyi, while Dani Orjinta replaced William Ukatu Chimechefulam as the Ikwuano LGA Chairman.

Chukwudi Ahuama replaced Nwandu Chiemela Godwin as Deputy Chairman of Ugwunagbo LGA, while Chigaemezu Ejiekpe replaced Uchenna Jumbo as the Deputy Chairman of Osisioma LGA.

No reason was given for the chairmen’s removal and replacement.

Ezem, however, said the sack and replacement were with immediate effect.

Their sack comes 20 days after they were sworn in by the Abia State Government.

The came barely three days after Governor Ikpeazu lost the Abia South senatorial election to Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe.

Sources in the state have blamed the sack on the losses suffered by the ruling Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state, especially in the councils headed by the sacked officials.

Share This Article

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *