Just In: PDP Clears Bayelsa LG Polls, As APC Boycotts

Results of the Bayelsa State Local Government election shows that the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has won all eight chairmanship positions in the 2019 Local Government Council Elections held on Saturday.

It is the same story for PDP anathema party clinched all the 105 councillorship seats.

Mr. Diepreye Ubarugu of the PDP polled 42,539 votes to beat other contenders to emerge Chairman of Kolokuma-Opokuma LGA; while Dr. Bertola Perekeme scored 62,529 to clinch that of Ekeremor.

Alali Embelakpor was declared winner for Sagbama Chairmanship election with 96, 468 votes.

Brass went to Victor Isaiah who is making a return as Council Boss with 28,667 votes as Ebinyo Turnah won in former President Goodluck Jonathan’s Ogbia LGA with 17,661 votes.

Nembe was won by Alalibo West with 54,562 votes; while the “Mayor” of Yenagoa City is Oropaye Nimizua. He scored 89,831 votes.

The acting Chairman of BYSIEC, Chief Remember Ogbe, officially declared the eight PDP candidates as new Chairmen of the 8 Local Government Councils.

44 political parties participated in the 2019 Bayelsa State Local Council election, with the main opposition party, the All Progressives Congress and some others boycotting the process.

Share This Article

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *