Kogi Decides: Controversy As APC Disqualifies Irukera, 9 Others After N327 Million Cash Haul

Babatunde Irukera, Director General/Chief Executive Officer Federal Competition and Consumer Protection Commission (FCCPC) was among nine aspirants disqualified by the six-man screening committee set up by the All Progressives Congress (APC) national working committee.

The screening is preparatory to the primary election of the party for the upcoming November governorship election in Kogi State.

The Committee, however, approved incumbent Governor Yahaya Bello and three other aspirants for the August 29 primary of the party.

The committee approved the four aspirants out of the 16 aspirants that have indicated interests in participating in the state’s governorship election on November 16.

The committee announced the approval in a report issued in Abuja on Monday at the end of the screening exercise.

Signed by Senator Hope Uzodinma, the chairman of the committee, the statement noted that other aspirants approved are: Mr. Abubakar Bashir, Ekele Aishat Blessing and Rep. Hassan Abdullahi.

The 13 male aspirants bought expression of interest and nomination forms at N22.5 million each, while three female aspirants purchased it at N11.25 million each.

The total income realised from the sale of forms was about N327 million.

According to the report, Prof. Mohammed Seidu was not cleared because he paraded two different dates of birth.

The report said that there was also discrepancy in the date of birth of Usman Oyibe Jibrin.

Other aspirants, according to the report, are not cleared due to the following reasons:

Mustapha Mona Audu: invalid nomination process; not a financial member of the party; no evidence of financial contribution to the party, certificate of birth or declaration of age not attached.

Hadiza Iyoma Ibrahim: No supporting document/credentials, invalid nomination by members of the party and not a financial member of the party.

Yahaya Odidi Audu: Invalid declaration of age and not a financial member of the party.

Sani Lulu Abdullahi: Not a financial member of the party and not registered in his ward.

Patrick Adenu Akpa: Unsigned and invalid nomination form and not a financial member of the party.

Danlami Umar Mohammed: Not a financial member of the party, invalid party membership card and invalid nomination.

Yakubu Mohammed: Not a financial member of the party and invalid nomination.

Babatunde Ayo Kunle Irukera: Invalid declaration of age, spent less than one year in the party and without waiver, academic credentials and supporting documents not attached, not a committed party member and nomination form not duly signed.

Rukkaya Ibrahim: Incomplete nomination form, no Permanent Voter Card, invalid declaration of age and not a committed party member.

Mohammed Abubakar Audu: Invalid nomination form and not financial member of the party.

But, Irukera has fired back, saying he even contested for the same position four years ago wondering if he ever denounced his membership.

He also provided documents to show that he has no issues with his age or certificates.

APC’s regulations provide for appeal. Just as observers wonder what will happen to the sum of N22.5 million collected by the party from each of the aspirants including those disqualified.

Share This Article

More Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *